Search
Deals
Cruises
Get Help
Call Us

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Mexico - Riviera Maya

Our Rating

4 Nights with Air from $1,029 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating 39 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"The beach was so beautiful. The resort was clean and the staff was friendly. We loved being close to Playa del Carmen. The food was good and the drinks were plentiful. We had a wonderful time!!" – Wildflower
41 out of 48 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend. Read All Reviews
Viva Azteca Lobby Bar I wanna go again! On the beach - Riviera Maya beach at the resort Santa Claus! From the beach looking at the property
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 39 reviews. Sort by
March 18, 2013
VIVA AZTECA- plain, but OK.

We were at the Azteca 3/10/13-3/15/10. We've been to Riviera Maya several times. The GOOD: 1. Excellent beach and clean ocean. Last year we were closer to Cancun at the Ocean Turquesa and there was lots of trash floating in the ocean-DISGUSTING!!! 2. Food was average, BUT the salad bar and fruit were very fresh and we try to eat vegetarian. 3. Staff was very friendly and helpful. 4. Lots of sun pagodas on the beach, BUT you must get up early to get one, by about 8:00 AM. The NOT-SO-GOOD: 1. The facility is VERY plain and basic. We are used to much more lavish and beautiful surroundings and architecture and this place felt like a Holiday Inn on the beach. Compared to the RIU Palace next door, the AZTECA looks like a motel. 2. Wireless internet is TERRIBLE and there is no option for in room internet service. 3. They charge you for an in room safe. 4. The SPA should not be called a spa because it's just a small back room with 2 massgage tables in it. Not even a bathroom there! We look forward to a beautiful spa on vacation and this was very disappointing. 5. The nightly shows were LAME and consisted mostly of the staff jumping around. The theater also was poor. 6. They charge you for bottled water. SUMMARY: We had a great time because of the excellent beach and location to Playa del Carmen. I wouldn't say don't go there because nothing was really wrong, but don't expect to find yourself in a 4 or 5 star environment. This is a 3 star at best, but they are lucky they have a great beach location which makes alot of other things tolerable. We would only go back there if we got an incredibly cheap deal.

VIVA AZTECA- plain, but OK. VIVA AZTECA- plain, but OK.
17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Saugerties, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 13, 2012
Great Thanksgiving vacation

My family and I met up at Azteca for a Thanksgiving vacation and had a wonderful time. There was so much to do between the two sister resorts (Maya) there just wasn't enough time. We stayed for 6 days and went into the trip having read many previous reviews. Our findings: Room was great, spacious and recently remodeled, a little musty smelling but to be expected in the moist humid climate. Once you opened the balcony door it was fine. Our room did not have an alarm clark or coffee maker which I was already prepared for having read reviews. The safe we used at $2/day for our valuables. They provided plenty of towels (3 adult women in one room) along with the adorable towel animals each day. They did not have washcloths which was bizarre in my mind but had read that in a review, so brought washcloths. They provide soap dispensers for the bathroom and shower gel and shampoo dispensers in the shower. Bring your own hair conditioner and lotion as this is not provided. The beach towel is provided via a card - you hand them a card, they give you a towel. You return the towel you get the card back for the next time. The food was wonderful - huge amounts of choices with the buffet being open for long hours and if they were not open, then the snack bar was. We were told we could get two reservations for their specialty restaurants during our stay but if we checked in prior to 3p at guest services and the restaurants had openings we could get in as often as we wanted. The asian restaurant was our favorite followed by the italian. The mayan restaurant had poor quality food. The service at the mayan restaurant was really wonderful though, so was too bad the food was so poor. In our party there were two vegetarians and one needing a gluten free meal. The mayan restaurant did not have any meals for vegetarians but went out of there way to create an entree for them and very kindly pointed out what could and could not be eaten for the gluten free diet. The buffets and snack bars had so many options that any one with specialty diets will have no problem what so ever. Every night, both hotels had shows to go to. We made it to a couple of them which ranged from a little cheesy to very entertaining. Both hotels offer many events like games, spanish leassons, exercise, dance lessons, archery, trapeze, as well as bicycle riding and kayaking. Beware of the bicycles - we took them out a couple of different times but they are in pretty rough shape and took some time to find ones with seats the right height so your knees weren't in your face and ones that actually worked. Other lessons were avail for additional fees like catamaran and scuba diving which we did not do. The beach was lovely and we had good weather. Playa Del Carmen is well gated and we felt extremely safe to be there. We enjoyed a couple of other excursions like the Jungle Maya tour and Tulum/Xel Ha. Definitely recommend those. The staff was very friendly and helpful and did a wonderful job with all of the languages. Highly recommend this trip to anyone wishing to have a great time in Mexico.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 19, 2013
nice place

Enjoyed the smaller resort atmosphere compared to some others nearby that were much larger. Beach is beautiful. Nice to be in a more residential area rather than isolated. Close enough to town to walk or ride bikes to shopping. Was surprised resort dining room was not air conditioned, but at least tables outside offered a breeze. Room was large and very clean. Very pleasant staff. Would recommend this resort. If purchasing a package, worth signing up for the shuttle to and from the airport. Very easy to find the transportation company and on time pick-up when returning to airport.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: midwest
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 14, 2013
First trip to Viva Wyndham Azteca

We had a great low key ladies trip full of fun on the beach and shopping. Let me start by saying that the staff at Viva Wyndham Azteca are very friendly and helpful. The bar and wait staff are great! Not too mention the entertainment staff really works hard to get guests involved in daily activities but are not pushy. With that being said if you are looking for a resort with night life than this is not the place for you. There is a nightly show which some nights are better than others. The sister resort 4 doors down has a disco, but we did not venture there that late at night. Walking to Viva Maya (sister resort) is very easy as well as walking to 5 th Avenue to shop and eat. The resort was very clean and very well maintained. Food in general is adequate. You can always find something at the main dinning hall. The snack bar always had chips and salsa any time we had a snack attack. Something to keep in mind is that depending on the amount of days/nights you stay only gives you a certain amount of dinners in the restaurants (3/4 nights you get 1 dinner; the rest will be in the main dinning area). Drinks are good but I would say light on the alcohol -- but you can have as many as you want! Also, frosted mugs for the beer lovers at the lobby bar. The pool stays busy and if you want a chair by the pool you will need to get up early to mark your spot. Plenty of seating out on the beach. The beach is gorgeous!!!!!!! This is a great resort for the price. I would go back for sure!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

The Viva Wyndham Azteca features 335 ocean view or garden view guestrooms decorated in a unique fusion of traditional Mexican and modern appointments. Rooms come equipped with a "French" style balcony, air conditioning, cable television, mini bar, in-room safe($), and complimentary Wi-Fi.

Room Details

Superior Room
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Superior Pool View
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Superior Ocean View
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Superior Ocean Front
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

We love that Viva Wyndham Azteca is so close to Playa del Carmen, where you can indulge in shopping, dancing and the unique culture of the area.

 

What We'd Change

We wish the beach was larger, but it is gorgeous and offers plenty of loungers and palapas for the serious sun worshiper.

 

Why You Should Go

The all-inclusive rate includes loads of activities, and since it shares privileges with its sister resort, there are several fine dining options.

Available Amenities

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Concierge Services
  • Currency Exchange
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Kayaks
  • Laundry Services ($)
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Snorkeling
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Windsurfing
  • Spa ($)
  • Poolside Bar
  • Medical Services ($)
  • 4 Restaurants
  • Bocce Ball
  • Spa Services ($)
  • Hiking/Biking Trails
  • Yoga
  • Handicap Room Available
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • Safe Deposit Box ($)
  • Beach Volleyball
  • Wireless Internet
  • Purified Drinking Water
  • Restaurant and Bar
  • Beach Towels
  • Introductory Scuba Lesson
  • Handicap Facilities/Wheelchair Accessible
  • In-Room Safe ($)
  • Car Rental Available ($)
  • ATM/Banking ($)


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Beach
  • Eco-Adventure Tour(s)
  • Fishing
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Horseback Riding
  • Mayan Ruins
  • Theme Park

Map of Local Area

Here you will find an abundance of possibilities, something for every person of any age, for every type of vacation, for every budget and every activity.

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Manzana 8, Paseo Xaman Ha No 8 Fracc

+52 984 877 4100

Hotel Description

Viva Wyndham Azteca: Dreams Come True at the Riviera Maya

If you keep dreaming about sunshine, palm trees and soft, white sand, why not make that dream a reality? Grab your passport and head to the luxurious Viva Wyndham Azteca in the beautiful Riviera Maya. Whatever the fantasy, Viva Wyndham Azteca is ready to indulge you: if you want to dance the night away, or start a new career as a beach bum, this all-inclusive resort is the place to be!

The private beach features loungers and palapas perfect for relaxing in the Caribbean sun. For a little extra relaxation, slip into the Jacuzzi and let the bubbling waters wash your cares away.

When you want a little pep in your step, Mexico and the Riviera Maya offer a wide range of activities that are sure to please the entire family. Get personal with the waves on a kayak or boogie board, or let the professional staff teach you how to sail a catamaran. Your kids will love the awesome offerings at the Kids Klub. For golfers, the 18-hole Playacar Club de Golf course is nearby. For a true aquatic adventure, get to know the world beneath the waves by visiting the PADI-certified dive shop, where the instructors are eager to show you how to enjoy the deep-blue sea.

At mealtime, there's plenty to choose from, since Viva Wyndham Azteca shares privileges with its sister resort, Viva Wyndham Maya. From authentic Mexican cuisine to a tasty international buffet, there's something for everyone. If you want to branch out, check out the three restaurants at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Once the sun goes down, the nightlife at Viva Wyndham Azteca cranks up with colorful cabaret shows and theme parties. When it's time to call it a night, you'll love the comfort of the Superior Room. Settle in for sweet dreams, so you'll be ready to do it all again tomorrow!

This hotel is All-Inclusive.
Features include:

  • Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24-hour snacks
  • Unlimited drinks, cocktails and house wine
  • Welcome cocktail
  • Taxes and gratuities

Viva Boomer
This offer is available to U.S. citizens, 60 years and older, for no additional charge. ID is required at check-in and the package must be requested at time reservation is booked.
Features include:

  • Personalized check-in
  • Priority luggage delivered to the room
  • Room upgrade (subject to availability)
  • In-room welcome amenities
  • Books and board games of your choice
  • Dance classes
  • Priority at a la carte restaurants
  • 10% discount in affiliated stores
  • 10% discount on meals and beverages additional to the all-inclusive package
  • Late check-out (subject to availability)


DINING

This hotel includes unlimited food and drinks, but some dining restrictions may apply. Please check with the front desk for details.

El Nopal
Type: International
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 6:30am-11am; Lunch - daily, 12:30pm-3pm; Dinner - daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: International buffet restaurant with theme dinners and diet corner.

Il Palco
Type: Italian
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-9:30pm
Description: A la carte restaurant located at Viva Wyndham Azteca. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Casual attire.

Bamboo
Type: Oriental
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-9:30pm
Description: A la carte restaurant located at Viva Wyndham Azteca. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Casual attire.

Xul Ha
Type: Mexican
Hours: Daily, 6pm-9:30pm
Description: A la carte restaurant located at Viva Wyndham Azteca. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Casual attire.

In addition, guests are able to enjoy, at no additional charge, the "Don Diego" Mexican Restaurant the "Portofino" Mediterranean restaurant, the Italian Pizza Pasta restaurant "Miramare" and the Fusion restaurant "Viva Cafe" at the sister resort Viva Wyndham Maya (reservations required, limited availability).

All hours are subject to change. Reservations are limited and depend on the length of stay.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

Pool Bar
Poolside snack bar. Open 24 hours a day.

Lobby Bar
Daily, 7am-2am.

Night Life
Guests enjoy live musical productions and cabaret shows staged by the resort's talented, international staff.



BEACH

Viva Wyndham Azteca is located on a private stretch of beach. Loungers and palapas for shade are available at the beach.

POOLS

The resort offers an ocean-view pool with a snack bar located under the round palapa. The Jacuzzi also has an ocean view. Loungers and towels are available.

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water
The resort has a Water Sports Center, with complimentary non-motorized equipment. Daily, 9am-5pm.

  • Aqua gym
  • Water aerobics
  • Windsurfing
  • Catamaran lesson
  • Kayaks
  • Snorkeling
  • Boogie boards
  • Introductory dive lesson
Available for an additional charge:
  • On-site PADI certified dive center

Sports

  • Fitness center
  • Bocce
  • Bicycles
  • Dance lessons
  • Tennis
  • Beach volleyball

Golf
Playacar Club de Golf, a Robert Von Hagge-designed, 18-hole, par-72, championship golf course is available for an additional charge.



INTERNET

The resort offers complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the property, including all guest rooms.

SPA SERVICES

Viva Wyndham Azteca has a small spa and offers access to the larger spa at the sister resort, Viva Wyndham Maya. Renova Spa at Viva Wyndham Maya offers a full complement of spa services for an additional charge. Daily, 10am-6:30pm.

WEDDING/HONEYMOON

Wedding Package (US $1,125)
Features an Upgrade to an ocean view room with a King size bed; Fruit basket in the room upon arrival; In-room breakfast the day after the wedding; Late morning maid service; Late check-out; Free safety box; Free Wi-Fi; In-room honeymoon surprise; Assistance of an on-property wedding coordinator; Civil judge and legal expenses ***; Translation of the ceremony into English (ceremony is performed in Spanish); Romantic dinner for two; Bridal bouquet; Wedding cake & Sparkling wine for 10 people; Background music & decorations; 10 color photos; Reception dinner the night of the wedding. Subject to availability. ***Does not include legalization

FREE Honeymoon Package
For a minimum of four days and three nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne/sparkling wine, a fruit basket, an hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7" x 4 " picture, two t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check-in, and within six months of marriage.

CHILD CARE

Kids Klub offers supervised activities for children ages 4-12. Daily, 8am-10pm.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Viva Wyndham Azteca is located in Riviera Maya at the Playacar complex, situated only 2 miles or 3 kilometers from Playa del Carmen town and 38 miles or 60 kilometers from Cancun International Airport.

Check In/Check Out
Check-in: 3pm. Check-out: noon.
A valid credit card may be required upon check-in for possible incidentals not included in your hotel reservation.

Smoking Policy
Beginning December 20, 2014, Viva Wyndham Azteca will offer only non-smoking rooms to ensure a clean air hotel environment. Smoking is still permitted on the balconies to accommodate guests who smoke.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports, and loud music.

Viva Wyndham Maya
All guests at Viva Wyndham Azteca are welcome to enjoy the restaurants at their sister property, Viva Wyndham Maya, and to indulge at their Renova Spa. A 24-hour deli and snack service is also available.

Environmental Levy Fee
The Municipalidad of Solidaridad in the Rivera Maya is one of the most beautiful places in the Mexican Caribbean. Tourism has been instrumental in driving the economic and social development of the region. In an effort to continue to preserve, conserve and beautify the destination, the Municipality of Solidaridad has implemented a small environmental levy on visitors effective September 1, 2017. Hotels will collect 20 to 25 Mexican pesos per room per day on check out; the proceeds will be deposited in an environmental trust to fund local projects. Please be mindful of the fluctuation of exchange rates, as this exact dollar amount may vary. The Municipalidad of Solidaridad thanks you for your understanding and support of this worthwhile endeavor. Thank you and enjoy your visit.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 4/12 - 8/31
Starting at $1029 was $1069
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 5 days left to book!
More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 1/3 - 4/11
Starting at $599 was $1509
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 5 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 2am EST

All Riviera Maya Resorts