Search
Deals
Cruises
Get Help
Call Us

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Mexico - Riviera Maya

Our Rating

4 Nights with Air from $569 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating 71 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4.2 out of 5
"Great place to vacation with family, especially with todller. If travel with toddler, try to get the Hacienda Suite." – beachfaimilylover999
70 out of 81 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend. Read All Reviews
Lookiing into the resort from the beach Beautiful beach!
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 71 reviews. Sort by
August 21, 2010
Been Twice and Looking to go a third

I've actually stayed at this resort twice. The first time was so great and such a good value we went here back to back year and now are actually looking into going a third time and getting married there. The resort is phenomenal. It is broken into two sections the beach and the Rivera. We preferred the Rivera. It was further from the actual beach but was newer and had nicer bigger rooms. Plus if you are feeling lazy and don't want to walk to the beach the better pools are in the Rivera section and they have a golf cart that comes every few minutes that will take you to the beach section. The food is outstanding. I mean there is only so good a buffet can be, but Sandos has some of the best buffet food I've had outside of Vegas. The Ala cart dining options are great too. Loved the Brazilian and steak place. French was good too. The bars are great with tasty drinks and good service. We upgraded to the select club when we got there. It gets you preferential seating on the beach and an extra pool area with some pretty awesome loungers. Also you get access to two additional bar areas that have pretty tasty hors d'oeuvres and top shelf liqueur. The beach is also great. White sand on the bluest water. I love the whole thing. I've been to the Mayan Rivera two times and both were at the Sandos and booked at CheapCarribean. I can't think of a better way to spend my vacation and look forward to my third trip this summer.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 3, 2012
Good if traveling with family

Sandos Playacar's resort was overall a good resort. We traveled at the end of February 2012. I would recommend this resort to people who like to vacation with their childern (typically when we go to Mexico we enjoy this time without our childern). It is very family friendly. Food- Buffets are buffets, but they did offer a variety. They did show cooking at every meal so you could have fresh food made right in front of you. The chicken and fish were very good. Desserts however were not as sweet as we are use to. We ate at all the a la carte restaurants except for the Brazilian and the French. Our favorite was the Meditteranean. Beach- Beach area was nice. They could have done a little better job clearing the seaweed off the high tide area in the morning, but what was left did not stink at all. The beach area was big enough for everyone except if you want a place in the shade make sure you put your towels out early in the morning. Activities/Shows- The entertainment team puts in long hours and does a good job trying to keep everyone entertained. The shows were amateur, but were nice to go and see. There was always something going on if you like to get involved. Rooms- The rooms were just as seen in their photos. We had a beautiful view of both the adults only pool and the ocean. One of the best views I have had from a room so far. The showers were very spacious.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Withee, Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 10, 2011
Fantastic Resort for the money. We will return!!!!

We had a fantastic time. We would HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying in the STANDARD room over the Junior Suites. The standard room might not have all the frills of the Suites but it is centrally located next to the pools, food, bars, dive shop and best of all the ocean and beaches. The Junior Suites are a LONGGGGGG walk to the ocean (they do have a van that picks you up and drops you off) but when I am on vacation I dont want to wait for a van to have fun. FOR ALL YOU DIVERS: the reefs are great the dive shop is very accommodating. The divemasters allowed me to pick which reefs I wanted to dive and several times myself and the divemasters where the only divers. Food was good, I highly recommend making reservations to all of the fancy restaurants as soon as you get there, as the good ones fill up fast. The Beach is fantastic, every morning sea weed/grass would wash up on the beach and the crew from the resort were instantly on it cleaning up the beach. I even saw a man raking the sand first thing in the morning so that when all of the guests come down it looks perfectly groomed(NOW THATS SERVICE).


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: US
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 30, 2011
Overall a Good Trip

My party and I ended up downgrading our rooms and losing money due to the fact that the nice new rooms were a mile away from the beach, big pools and buffet. Only after we booked the trip we read the reviews online about the distance of the new rooms from the beach. So if you don't want to walk over a mile to the buffets and the beach ask or book an old room!!! They did give us a partial ocean view! I only have two complaints one is there is no beach services! You have to walk to a very crowded bar in order to get drinks. Also there is no separate checkout line or kiosk. It took me over an hour and half to be able to check out!!! Good points: Restaurants where very good! Beach was very nice! Room was always stocked with beer, soda, water. 24 hours room service! Very close to downtown Playa $7 cab ride.


14 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

Room Information

A stay by the beach, family rooms, 16-room villas with private pools, an adults only getaway... what are you in the mood for? Sandos Playacar Beach Resort features 819 spacious guestrooms with different sections to choose from, each with air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, ceiling fans, large bathrooms and a balcony or terrace.

Room Details

Riviera Family King Junior Suite (Available until 12/20/19)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Riviera Family Queen Junior Suite
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Select Superior - Select Club (Adults-Only 18+)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Hacienda Junior Suite - Hacienda Family Section
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Select Club Ocean Front - Select Club (Adults-Only 18+)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

The All Playa Experience has themed beach parties every day of the week, with music, food and games that get downright competitive! Oh, and the beach is to die for.

Their brand new infinity pool and five-slide water park for endless family fun!

 

What We'd Change

I found in order for me to get my favorite beach chair every day, I had to go to the beach at 6:30 to get the best seats (as I love lounging on the beach!)

 

Why You Should Go

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort is all about a fun social vibe. Beach parties, Kids Club, Teen Club, night shows and access to exclusive, adults-only areas--it's time to play.

Available Amenities

  • Car Rental Available
  • Beach
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Concierge Services
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Currency Exchange
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Dive Shop
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Gift Shop
  • Kayaks
  • Kids Club
  • Laundry Services ($)
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Playground
  • Roll-Away Bed (on request)
  • Snorkeling
  • Swimming Pool(s)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Sailing
  • Aerobics
  • 24 Hour Front Desk
  • 24 Hour All-Inclusive
  • Sauna
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Medical Services ($)
  • Nightclub/Disco
  • Bicycle Rental
  • 5 Bars/Lounges
  • Porter/Bellhop
  • 10 Restaurants
  • Elevators
  • Beach Towels
  • Spa Services ($)
  • Handicap Room Available
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • 24 Hour Room Service
  • Watersports Center
  • Wireless Internet
  • Swim-Up Bar


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Beach
  • Deep-Sea Fishing
  • Dining
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Helicopter/Airplane Rides
  • Jet Ski Rentals
  • Marina
  • Mayan Ruins
  • Medical Facilities
  • Motor Boat Rentals
  • Parasailing
  • Scooter/Moped Rental
  • Scuba Diving
  • Shopping
  • Snorkeling
  • Water-Skiing

Map of Local Area

Here you will find an abundance of possibilities, something for every person of any age, for every type of vacation, for every budget and every activity.

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Paseo Xaman-Ha Manzana 1, Lote 1, Fracc. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, 77710 Mexico

011-52-984-877-40-40

Hotel Description

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort: The All-Inclusive Beach Life

Free yourself from the stress of work and take a beach break! Escape to Sandos Playacar, where all you have to worry about is digging your toes into a glorious patch of white sand bathed by the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. Sound good? Then start melting your troubles away with the all inclusive perks housed in this fun-loving Riviera Maya resort.

Take the fiesta to the Caribbean Sea with the All Playa Experience, featuring a themed beach party every day of the week honoring the world's top beaches. If you've been looking for a way to make a splash, plunge into one of the resort's swimming pools before diving into a variety of exciting activities for adventurists of all ages. The Kids Club has supervised games and crafts, while big kids will love the arcade and video games at the Lite Teen Club.

For a fun-filled grownup getaway, book your stay in the Select Club Adults Only section (ages 18+) for access to exclusive and upgraded amenities such as a gourmet breakfast buffet and a Select Club exclusive pool just a few steps from the beach with waiter service!

When you feel hunger pangs, you can chow down with the wide variety of restaurants like the Cupcake Cafe, Chayita Mexican restaurant with made-to-order tacos and burritos, impressive buffets, Mexican cuisine at Gourmex, and so much more. In the evenings, head to the Gran Plaza for cocktails and a show under the stars.

If you indulged a little too much, you have all inclusive access to the resort's hydrotherapy area and fitness center to help you stay trim and toned for the beaches. Need to melt your tension away? Indulge in a massage or a full range of beauty treatments that will leave you relaxed and recharged.

This hotel is All-Inclusive.
Features include:

  • Breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks, including 24-hour room services
  • Unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages and soft drinks
  • Non-motorized water sports
  • Kid's club and Teen's club
  • Taxes and service charges

Sandos Playacar also offers fantastic exchange privileges with Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, subject to availability. Guests should book their day passes (available for use from 11am-11pm) at the front desk of Sandos Playacar. Privileges include access to Sandos Caracol's buffet restaurants and several other facilities and amenities!



DINING

This hotel includes unlimited food and drinks, but some dining restrictions may apply. Please check with the front desk for details.

Festival Grand Buffet
Type: Buffet
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-11am; Lunch - daily, 12:30pm-4pm; Dinner - daily, 6:30pm-11pm
Description: Contemporary buffet featuring a variety of contemporary and international fare.
Dress code: Casual. Shoes/sandals and shirt required. Do not enter wet or wearing only a swimsuit.

Iztapalapa
Type: Buffet (Select Club Adults-only section)
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-11am
Description: Breakfast and lunch buffets.
Dress code: Casual. Shoes/sandals and shirt required. Do not enter wet or wearing only a swimsuit.

Asiana
Type: Asian
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: Asian favorites. Reservations required.
Dress code: Casual. Shoes/sandals and shirt required. Do not enter wet or wearing only a swimsuit.

Fogo de Janeiro
Type: Brazilian
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: A la carte Brazilian specialties. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Casual. Shoes/sandals and shirt required. Do not enter wet or wearing only a swimsuit.

Le Gourmet
Type: French
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: Elegant a la carte French experience. Adult-only. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

El Gaucho Steakhouse
Type:
Grill
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: Steakhouse and grill. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Casual. Shoes/sandals and shirt required. Do not enter wet or wearing only a swimsuit.

Chayita
Type:
Mexican
Hours: Daily, 11am to midnight
Description: Made-to-order burritos, tacos and salads. Located in the new outdoor Plaza.
Dress code: Casual. Shoes/sandals and shirt required. Do not enter wet or wearing only a swimsuit.

II Piemonte
Type:
Italian
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: Dine on delicious a la carte Italian cuisine.

Gourmex Mexican Cuisine
Type:
Mexican
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: Dine on delicious a la carte Mexican cuisine.

Cupcake Cafe
Type:
Dessert
Hours: Daily, 8am-midnight
Description: Snack on delicious dessert favorites.

All hours are subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

Blue Moon Snack Bar
Beachside snack bar, located in the Select Club adults-only section. Daily, 9am-6pm.

Bagelbar
Beachside bagel bar. Daily, 6pm-11pm.

Bar La Plaza
Daily, 9am-midnight.

Lobby Bar Riviera
Lobby bar. Daily, 8am-midnight.

Swim-up Bar
Pool side bar in the Family section. Daily, 9am-6pm.

La Mision
Nightclub for ages 18 and up. Daily, 11pm-2am.

Avenue Sports Bar
Teens club. Daily, 10pm-close.



BEACH

The complex is ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach, within a short distance from the town of Playa del Carmen and the famous 5th Avenue.

POOLS

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort features 6 pools scattered throughout the complex including 1 exclusively for Select Club Adult-Only guests, a brand new infinity pool and 2 for children. Families also get to enjoy the fun, onsite, five-slide waterpark!

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water

  • Kayaks
  • Boogie boards
  • Snorkeling gear
  • Hobie catamaran
  • Scuba demo
  • Fishing
  • Jet skis
  • Parasailing

Land

  • Tennis court
  • Bicycles

Golf
Guests can tee-off at the 18-hole Grand Coral Golf Club designed by Nick Price. The club offers a club house and exclusive beach club.



INTERNET

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort offers Internet access for an additional charge.

SPA SERVICES

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort includes luxury treatment rooms with indulgent facial & body technology equipment that are sure to leave you feeling relaxed and recharged for an additional charge. Daily, 8am-8pm. Services include:

  • Hydrotherapy
  • Massages
  • Facials


WEDDING SERVICES

Sandos Playacar has personalized attention to make memorable your event, meeting, wedding or conference. Please contact the resort directly for more information.

CHILD CARE

Kid's club (4-12 years old) and Teen's club (13-17 years old) available with a daily activities program. Daily, 10am-10pm. Activities include:
  • Games
  • Children's pool
  • Theater
  • Video games
  • Playground

Babysitting is also available for an additional charge.



ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort is located in the exclusive development of Playacar, in front of an ample white sand beach bathed by turquoise waters of the Caribbean.

Check In/Check Out
Check-in: 3:00 pm. Check-out: 12:00 pm
A valid credit card may be required upon check-in for possible incidentals not included in your hotel reservation. Must be 18 or older to check in.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports, and loud music.

Spring Break
No student groups under 21 or "Spring Breakers" accepted at this resort year round.

Environmental Levy Fee
The Municipalidad of Solidaridad in the Rivera Maya is one of the most beautiful places in the Mexican Caribbean. Tourism has been instrumental in driving the economic and social development of the region. In an effort to continue to preserve, conserve and beautify the destination, the Municipality of Solidaridad has implemented a small environmental levy on visitors effective September 1, 2017. Hotels will collect 20 Mexican pesos per room per day on check out; the proceeds will be deposited in an environmental trust to fund local projects. The Municipalidad of Solidaridad thanks you for your understanding and support of this worthwhile endeavor. Thank you and enjoy your visit.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 11/1 - 12/20
Starting at $569 was $1119
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 7 days left to book!
Family Queen More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 9/16 - 10/31
Starting at $579 was $1189
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 7 days left to book!
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 1/3 - 4/4
Starting at $829 was $1429
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 7 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 2am EST

All Riviera Maya Resorts